The Northern Indiana Regional Science and Engineering Fair (NIRSEF) is open to schools in the counties of Elkhart, Fulton, Marshall, St. Joseph, Starke, Kosciusko, LaPorte, Porter, and Lake.


2024 NIRSEF Committee:

Dr. Amy Stark, NIRSEF Executive Director

Dr. David Leighton, Director of Judging

Dr. James McLister, Co-Chair of the SRC

Ms. Alexis Thornburg, Co-Chair of the SRC 

Mr. David Lawrence

Mr. Ken Andrzejewski

Ms. Amy Niemier

Mr. Michael Niemier

Ms. Maria Knowlton

Ms. Kim Poovey, Coordinator

Ms. Emily Arroyo, Coordinator


The NIRSEF Committee meets regularly to stay current on ISEF rules, communicate registration guidelines to teachers, and organize a safe and educational environment for science fair participants.